Skip to content

Rest in peace Anne and Wilfred Rickard <3

April 7, 2012

I have some devastating personal news. My dad’s mum and dad both passed away over the past two days. My nan was dying – we knew she was – she had been diagnosed with bowel cancer. We knew her life wasn’t going to be lasting much longer. So we tried to make it special.

Nan passed away yesterday after a long battle with cancer after it eventually got to her lungs. It wasn’t too much of a shock – but it still shook us hard. For the first time in my life, I knelt down by the end of my bed and prayed to her – to talk to her for that final time. And tonight, it looks like I’ll be doing the same.

Grandpa had been going strong up until the recent tragedy. A 90 year-old man with a big heart. Despite having dementia and forgetting us at times – he never stopped loving us. Grandpa was described as an ox – a strong fighter who’d keep going as long as Nan was beside him.

I used to love coming to see them – I remember when Grandpa would play the harmonica and lighten the entire room with his jolly tunes. Then Nan would get me to dance with her and I’d go red with embarrassment. The memories are so clear.

Grandpa once said “When Anne is gone – I’ll be going too.” – and so he did. Earlier today, Grandpa went into a massive stroke and collapsed. He knew he was going. He wanted to go. Without Nan, his life wasn’t worth living. They kept each other going through thick and thin.

The news came about an hour or so ago. Grandpa had gone peacefully. Longing to see his perfect wife again.

I can picture them. Up above the clouds, walking; side by side, hand in hand. Watching over us, proud of us, watching us carry on with their lives in our memories. There they’d stay, side by side, hand in hand – watching over us, watching us grow up and making them proud.

I’ve messed up many times during my life so far. But I’ll do them proud. I’ll do well in school. I’ll do well in life. I’ll grow up, get a good job and live my dream life with my own family beside me. All for them. All to show how much they meant to me. All to show how much I loved them both.

I can’t reverse time but what I can do is put the good memories on replay in my mind. Remember them both before the tragedies. Remember them smiling. Remember them being happy together – side by side, hand in hand.

Rest in peace, Nana and Grandpa. You will never be forgotten. I love you both so much. xxx ♥ ♥ ♥

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2012 23:27

    😥

  2. Mike permalink
    April 16, 2012 21:40

    It seems to me that you’ve already done them proud.

Leave a Reply

