Skip to content

R.I.P. Edd Gould – 1988-2012

March 28, 2012

I’m very sorry to report the passing of Edd Gould, an incredible person, artist and animator who was best known for his popular online series, Eddsworld . Edd Gould has been fighting against leukaemia for six years and throughout all his time in pain, he has managed to produce many different animations and webcomic strips to entertain his large fanbase. However, sadly, in the end his body couldn’t handle the pain and Edd gave up and passed away. Despite this incredible person no longer being with us on Earth, his memory will still live on in the hearts and souls of all of his fans who will keep his memory alive and make sure he is forever remembered. 

I wouldn’t usually make a blog post about the death of somebody famous – but this person was different. He was an inspiration, a fighter and an amazing guy and now he is up in heaven watching over all of us, who were inspired by him to take new heights and carry on his memory and excellency.

R.I.P. Edd Gould

His fans always came first no matter what. Even when Edd was slowly dying from the leukaemia, his fans still came first and he would carry on animating, drawing comic strips and making his fans laugh and laugh.

This person was an incredible human-being who didn’t deserve to die. Edd turned down big business opportunities and even the chance to have his own TV series several times all because it would interfere with his series Eddsworld and would mean leaving his fans behind.

I sadly never got to meet Edd but from listening to his livestreams and watching him in person in YouTube videos – I felt like I knew him. He didn’t act fake or mean – he always felt genuine and was simply being the Edd Gould we all love and miss.

Only four words can sum up Edd; Edd Gould: ‘He was pretty swell.’

R.I.P. Edd Gould

Edd animated many different Eddisodes; all uniquely funny and clever – whenever you saw the familiar Eddsworld logo appear, you knew you were in for a treat. And you were never wrong.

Edd animated an Eddisode about climate change for the BBC and even starred on the news along with Tom Ridgewell, he animated a hilarious story for popular comedy series, Mitchell and Webb as well as making many different stories including the Zanta Claws trilogy, Hammer and Fail, Spares and WTFuture – to name a few. One of the videos he animated back in his early days was Tenacious D’s song ‘Tribute’ and I think one line from this song is perfect to sum up what this post was all about.

“This is just a tribute.”

Because that’s what this is, a simple tribute to an incredible person.

Rest in peace, Edd Gould – 1988-2012 – you will always be remembered.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 19:09

    Beautifully written and eloquently put Harry. Once again proving that you are well beyond your years

    Karl

    • March 28, 2012 19:49

      Thank you very much, Karl. I’m glad you liked it. It’s most kind of you.

      – Harry

  2. swirlythingy permalink
    March 28, 2012 20:29

    I did actually get to meet Edd, round about this time last year in a dilapidated university hall in New Cross. The official title was the ‘London Small Press and Webcomic Expo’, which prompted Edd (or one of his friends – sorry, I literally had no idea who any of them were so I can’t be very specific) to greet me, the moment I browsed round to his table, with “We don’t belong here, we’re YouTubers.”

    He was selling Toaster Brains, a collection of comic strips from his website, which I had never previously visited. It was a mark of the quality of his strips, and his never-failing sense of humour, that after a quick flip-through the book later became one of the few unplanned purchases I made that day, and I didn’t regret it.

    Eddsworld was also one of only two stands (the other being Gunnerkrigg Court) I mentioned by name when I sat down that evening to write and draw a comic strip recounting my experience of the show – on the basis that the medium seemed appropriate for the subject matter, and anyway I wanted to keep my hand in – which shows how much of an impression he made on me. Even today, I can recall the exact tone of voice in which he swore loudly after I enquired whether the blurb giving the book’s name as “Toasted Brains” was intentional (you never know with webcomics), and the argument he had with his hapless companion (who might have been Matt for all I know) about how said companion was asked to proofread it, and lamenting the number of copies printed.

    It’s probably much more of a reflection on me that one of my clearest memories of that day consists of me pointing out someone else’s mistake to them, but I can honestly say that Edd was just as brilliant in person as he was in print, and in the videos I later watched after enjoying the book. It certainly never occurred to me that he was badly suffering from leukaemia, or that he was a year away from death, but I can honestly say that if ever there was a man who gave far more from his short life than his life ever gave him, it was Edd Gould.

    My meeting with him lasted five minutes and that’s about the same amount of time I’ve spent watching his animations, so I feel like a filthy bandwagon-jumper more than a genuine fan, but I hope somebody enjoys my vague blatherings.

    • March 28, 2012 21:05

      Thank you very much for this, Martin – it was most interesting to hear of your experience and the only time you ever met Edd Gould.

      I think what you’ve wrote here is brilliant, it is lovely to hear how he interested you and how you sent that off with “but I can honestly say that if ever there was a man who gave far more from his short life than his life ever gave him, it was Edd Gould.” – very well put and completely true.

Leave a Reply

